clock Miami 01:48 Moscow 09:48
sun Miami +230С Moscow +60С

Hemingway museum Key West

Not far from Miami is the island of Key West, whose attractions are unusual and varied. Tourists love this place for many reasons: there is something charming, magical - it is beyond words!

The atmosphere of the island pulls you along like a fairy tale, attracts sweet notes of historical events and accomplishments. The visiting card of the resort is the house-museum of the famous Ernest Hemingway, the man who wrote amazingly interesting novels.

Ernest Hemingway House - Photo of the facade of the museum on the island of Key West - American Butler

Ernest hemingway house

Every year a huge number of people come here to plunge into the unique atmosphere, where the famous writer lived and worked for more than 10 years.

Built in the middle of the XIX century, a small house - one of the first on the island. A two-storey house in the architectural style of the Spanish colonists of the 18th century was made, it also has a swimming pool, which is filled with sea water from a well. In 1930, Ernest Hemingway purchased it. Now it is a world famous museum.

Walking through the Hemingway Museum takes visitors back to Key West, when other human customs and morals prevailed. The whole house is as if saturated with the presence of a talented author. The furniture, which has already become antique, trophies and souvenirs brought by an avid hunter from Western expeditions and safaris in Africa - in every detail is felt the spirit of Hemingway. It is especially strongly felt in the workshop where the great writer created his works.

The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum - Photos of Island Attractions: Hemingway House Pool - American ButlerThe descendants of the favorites of "old Hem" - cats ...

This is not the only Hemingway museum, but why is the house on Key West considered so extraordinary? All the fault of the writer's love of cats. Now more than 40 of them live in the territory belonging to the museum (and during the life of the author they were over eighty), and most of them have six or even seven fingers on their paws.

And the first cat appeared here in 1935, when Hemingway's friend, sea captain Stanley Dexter, brought a six-toed kitten named Snowball (Snowball). This kitten and won the heart of an avid hunter and fisherman, first with its uniqueness, and then with the cat habits.

It is surprising that before this the writer was not a cat owner, and after that he personally built the world famous drinking fountain for cats. What is surprising about him is that the fountain chute is a urinal from a regular bar brought to the house by Joe Russell, a close friend of Hema. And so that such a spicy detail did not focus on attention, the writer's wife decorated the urinal with tiles.

Key West has always attracted a huge number of artists, writers and poets, but none of them is so close to the house, and the whole island, like an avid fisherman and just a good writer, good old Ernest Hemingway. Many characters and storylines of books are those events and people he encountered while living on this island. It is believed that the state and real glory came to the author in this particular house.

Key West is worth a visit even for the sake of this museum, although there are many other interesting places besides The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum.

Ernest Hemingway House Museum on Key West - photo of the wall with photos of the author - American Butler

Excursions to the museum

American Butler organizes fascinating excursions not only around the islands, but throughout Florida. The company is constantly looking for new, unusual and fascinating places to make tours and excursion routes in accordance with the individual preferences of the customer.

Additional information
Address 907 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone number +1-305-294-1136
Hours of operation
  • Mon - Sun: 9:00 am - 05:00 pm.
Admission
  • Adults: 12-64 - $14,00;
  • Children: 5-12 - $6,00.
Web-site Visit web-site
Using the services of the company American Butler, you will definitely be delighted with the rest spent.
scroll to top
Call back
Ask question
Property rental
Buying property
Property management
Book a tour
Car Rental Request
Book transfer to Miami
Miami Yacht Charter
Education in the USA
Hotel reservation
Cruises in the USA
Notification
Login | Registration
Sign in via social network
Registration advantages:
  • 1.Receiving discounts and bonuses
  • 2.Comments and ratings
  • 3.Secure payments
  • 4.Payment history
  • 5.Subscribe to news and updates
Registration advantages:
  • 1.Receiving discounts and bonuses
  • 2.Comments and ratings
  • 3.Secure payments
  • 4.Payment history
  • 5.Subscribe to news and updates
Login | Registration
Registration via social network
Registration advantages:
  • 1.Receiving discounts and bonuses
  • 2.Comments and ratings
  • 3.Secure payments
  • 4.Payment history
  • 5.Subscribe to news and updates
Время выполнения: 0.0427 с., расход памяти: 2.6MB

clock Майами 16:21 Москва 00:21
sun Майами +230С Москва +60С

Дом Хемингуэя в Ки-Уэсте

Недалеко от Майами находится остров Ки-Уэст, достопримечательности которого необычны и разнообразны. Туристы любят это место по многим причинам: в нем есть нечто чарующее, волшебное - это не передать словами!

Атмосфера острова тянет вас за собой будто в сказку, манит сладкими нотами исторических событий и свершений. Визитной карточкой курорта можно назвать дом-музей знаменитого Эрнеста Хемингуэя, человека, который писал потрясающе-интересные романы.

Ernest Hemingway House - фото фасада музея на острове Key West - American Butler

Ernest Hemingway House

Каждый год сюда приезжает огромное количество людей для того, чтобы окунуться в неповторимую атмосферу, где более 10 лет жил и работал знаменитый писатель.

Построенный в середине XIX века небольшой дом – один из первых на острове. Выполнен двухэтажный домик в архитектурном стиле испанских колонистов 18-ого века, также в нем имеется бассейн, который наполняется морской водой из скважины. В 1930 году его и приобрел Эрнест Хемингуэй. Сейчас это известный на весь мир музей.

Прогулки по музею Хемингуэя переносят гостей в прошлое Ки-Уэста, когда господствовали другие человеческие нравы и моральные устои. Весь дом будто пропитан присутствием талантливого автора. Мебель, ставшая уже антиквариатной, трофеи и сувениры, привезенные заядлым охотником из западных экспедиций и сафари в Африке – в каждой детали чувствуется дух Хемингуэя. Особенно сильно он ощущается в мастерской, где великий писатель творил свои произведения.

The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum - фото достопримечательности острова: бассейн в доме Хемингуэя - American ButlerПотомки любимцев «старика Хема» - кошки...

Это же не единственный музей Хемингуэя, но почему дом на Key West считается столь неординарным? Всему виной любовь писателя к кошкам. Сейчас на территории принадлежащее музею их проживает более 40 (а при жизни автора их было за восемьдесят), и у большинства из них по шесть, а то и по семь пальцев на лапах.

А появился первый кот здесь в 1935 году, когда друг Хемингуэя, капитан дальнего плавания Стенли Декстер, принес шестипалого котенка по кличке Снежок (Сноубол). Этот котенок и покорил сердце заядлого охотника и рыбака, сперва своей необычностью, а потом и кошачьими повадками.

Удивительно, что до этого писатель кошатником не был, а после - собственноручно построил всемирно известный питьевой фонтан для кошек. Удивительно в нем то, что желоб фонтанчика – писсуар из обычного бара, принесенный в дом Джо Расселом, близким другом «Хема». А чтобы такая пикантная деталь не акцентировала на себе внимание, жена писателя декорировала писсуар плиткой.

Ки-Уэст всегда привлекал огромное количество художников, писателей и поэтов, но никто из них не сроднился так с домом, да и всем островом, как заядлый рыбак и просто хороший писатель, старый, добрый Эрнест Хемингуэй. Многие персонажи и сюжетные линии книг – это те события и люди, с которыми он столкнулся, проживая на этом острове. Считается, что состояние и настоящая слава пришли к автору именно в этом доме.

Ки-Вест стоит посетить даже только ради этого музея, хотя помимо The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum здесь есть еще много интересных мест.

Дом-музей Эрнеста Хемингуэя на Ки-Уэсте - фото стены с фотографиями автора - American Butler

Экскурсии в музей

American Butler организовывает увлекательные экскурсии не только по островам, а по всей Флориде. Компания постоянно ищет новые, необычные и увлекательные места, чтобы составлять туры и экскурсионные маршруты в соответствии с индивидуальными предпочтениями заказчика.

Дополнительная информация
Адрес 907 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040
Телефон +1-305-294-1136
Режим работы
  • Пн - Вс: 9:00 - 17:00.
Стоимость
  • Возраст: 12-64 лет - $14,00;
  • Дети: 5-12 лет - $6,00.
Веб сайт Посетить сайт
Воспользовавшись услугами компании American Butler, вы обязательно останетесь в восторге от проведенного отдыха.
scroll to top
Заказать звонок
Задайте ваш вопрос
Аренда недвижимости
Покупка недвижимости
Управление недвижимостью
Заказать экскурсию
Аренда автомобилей
Трансферы в Майами
Чартер яхты
Образование в США
Бронирование отеля
Круизы в США
Сообщение
Вход через соц.сети
Преимущества регистрации:
  • 1.Получение скидок и бонусов
  • 2.Комментарии и рейтинги
  • 3.Безопасная оплата
  • 4.История платежей
  • 5.Подписка на новости и обновления
Преимущества регистрации:
  • 1.Получение скидок и бонусов
  • 2.Комментарии и рейтинги
  • 3.Безопасная оплата
  • 4.История платежей
  • 5.Подписка на новости и обновления
Вход | Регистрация
Регистрация через соц.сети
Преимущества регистрации:
  • 1.Получение скидок и бонусов
  • 2.Комментарии и рейтинги
  • 3.Безопасная оплата
  • 4.История платежей
  • 5.Подписка на новости и обновления
Время выполнения: 0.1190 с., расход памяти: 2.68MB